APF Awards

The Australian Philatelic Federation conducts a formal system of Awards which aim to recognise and honour philatelists and others who have made a significant contribution to the development and promotion of philately in Australia.  The APF’s Award system comprises two main components – the Australian Philatelic Order Awards and the APF Services to Philately Award (at the National Level) or SPAN.

Australian Philatelic Order

The History of the Australian Philatelic Order

The Australian Philatelic Order was established by the APF in 1994 to recognize and honour philatelists who have given distinguished service to Australian Philately

Service to Philately at the National Level (SPAN)

The APF Services to Philately Award (at the National Level) or SPAN was established by the Australian Philatelic Federation in order to allow the APF, State Councils, Philatelic Societies, the Philatelic Trade and other organisations and individuals to:

  • recognise outstanding service in a specific field, area or program at the national level;
  • acknowledge major contributions above and beyond the stated requirements; and
  • honour the unwaivering commitment of those who encourage and inspire people of all ages to become involved in organised philately in a wide variety of ways.

The acronym SPAN reflects the wide span or range that this service can cover.  The Award is in the form of a plaque and certificate.

Site design © Peter Allan 2024

Site content © Australian Philatelic Federation 2024